September is Hunger Action Month, when Feeding San Diego and the national Feeding America network of more than 200 food banks unite to urge our communities to take action to help end hunger. We all have a role to play in getting food to those in need. With this Calendar of #DoOneGoodThing each day, though, we’re making it easy (and delicious and fun and impactful) for you to do your part.

*Event runs until the end of the month
**Promotion runs throughout the year

Saturday, September 1

Follow Feeding San Diego on all social media accounts and stay up to date on hunger news: Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, & LinkedIn. Share our social media posts or make your own to draw attention to hunger in San Diego.

Sunday, September 2

Eat at your local Souplantation and make a donation to help neighbors in need.*

Monday, September 3

Enjoy a Labor Day picnic and share this Hunger Action Month calendar with your friends and family.

Tuesday, September 4

Support Feeding San Diego by doing your shopping with Amazon Smile.**

Wednesday, September 5

Join the Pass the Plate campaign by writing on a paper plate how you will help fight hunger. Encourage your friends to participate!

Thursday, September 6

Eat at a Coco’s or Carrow’s restaurant any day this month and your server will ask you to donate $1, $2, or $3 (or any amount you like!). They’ll match donations up to $20,000, and send the proceeds to Feeding San Diego!*

Friday, September 7

Create a Facebook fundraiser page for the rest of September, inspiring friends and family to fight hunger.

Saturday, September 8

Feeding San Diego Open House!
Lend a hand in our warehouse and enjoy a tour, snacks, and some fun exercises!
Shifts all morning. Register here!

Sunday, September 9

10 Perfect Bites. Enjoy 10 courses of gourmet bites from San Diego’s top chefs.
Get the details here!

Monday, September 10

SNAP Challenge
Can you live on $5 a day for a week? Feeding San Diego challenges you to live on the same budget that too many people facing hunger are bound by.

Tuesday, September 11

In honor of Patriot Day, schedule a volunteer shift with a nonprofit you cherish.

Wednesday, September 12

Download Charity Miles and earn meals for those in need by walking, running or biking.*

Thursday, September 13

HUNGER ACTION DAY. Write an email or call your representatives. Let them know that 1 in 8 San Diegans are struggling with hunger…and that’s not acceptable. Tell them what you’re doing to end hunger, and ask them what they will do. Find your elected officials’ contact info here.

RUNWAY: Where Fashion Meets Compassion. Runway fashion show, appetizers, drinks, all to benefit Feeding San Diego!
Get the details here!

Friday, September 14

Sign up for a volunteer shift at the Feeding San Diego warehouse. It’s a fun way for you and your family to make a difference in the community. Sign up here.

Saturday, September 15

Come jam out with Rocktoc at the Indie Goes 80’s Pop concert. The event is $5 for presale tickets and will be held at 710 Beach Club in Pacific Beach

Sunday, September 16

Watch “A Place at the Table” about hunger in America.

Monday, September 17

Take a staycation with Omni Hotels & Resorts and say Good Night to Hunger. Omni will donate a meal to those facing hunger for every stay.**

Tuesday, September 18

Sign up for Feeding San Diego’s monthly enews and learn how you can join the fight against hunger.

Wednesday, September 19

Skip the take out today. Bring your lunch to work and donate what you saved to your local hunger relief organization. The $8 you would have spent on lunch can provide one month of lunches to someone in need.

Thursday, September 20

Talk to your employer about matching donations made by employees to fight hunger. Can you get them on board?

Friday, September 21

KPBS Pledge Drive! Call in to 1.800.576.5727 or give online and your pledge will be matched with a gift to Feeding San Diego! September 20 – 26.

RSI Roofing & Solar is raising funds and awareness for Feeding San Diego at their Annual Customer Appreciation Charity Golf Tournament today. You could start a friend-to-friend fundraiser or if you own a company, host a similar fundraiser and donate the proceeds to help solve hunger

Saturday, September 22

Share your photos on social media how you are fighting hunger and tag @feedingsandiego.

Sunday, September 23

Take a harbor cruise with Flagship Cruises and Events and a portion of all ticket sales will be donated to Feeding San Diego.

Monday, September 24

Purchase a WATM bottle and 16 meals will be donated to those facing hunger in San Diego.**

Tuesday, September 25

Register to vote today on National Voter Registration Day. Every vote matters!

Wednesday, September 26

Rally your coworkers together for day of team building and volunteering. Join us for the first year of Teams for Good and make a huge impact against hunger.

Thursday, September 27

Skip the coffee today and instead make a small donation to help fight hunger.

Friday, September 28

Buy a bottle of Sababa Water and a meal will be donated to a child facing hunger.**

Saturday, September 29

Eat at Buffalo Wild Wings in Mission Valley and 10% of your bill will be donated to FSD.

Sunday, September 30

Make a plan to continue to take action against hunger throughout the year. We can make that easy for you! Become a monthly donor.

###

*Event runs until the end of the month
**Promotion runs throughout the year

Download the PDF file .